Top honours for high achievers

PRIZEWINNERS14PRIESTLEY College has honoured its class of 2014 for their academic success and achievements.
The College’s annual awards evening saw members of the cohort recognised for their contributions to student and community life as well as achievements since finishing their exams.
Matthew Grant, now Principal of Priestley College, told the audience of students, parents and tutors: “We believe it is right to ensure outstanding performance, whether that is by results, commitment, effort or perseverance, should be recognised.
“The awards evening is a great opportunity to bring people together and celebrate the success and achievements of young people from Warrington and Halton.”
Among those receiving their awards were students who formerly attended schools across the Warrington, Runcorn and Widnes.
Len Sharpe, Managing Director of Solvay, was Guest of Honour at the evening in recognition of the global company’s partnership with Priestley College.
He presented more than 80 awards – including many sponsored by local businesses and individuals – to some of the highest achievers.
Others were recognised for excelling in each curriculum area while others received Duke of Edinburgh awards.
Priestley’s regional, national and international sports stars were also acknowledged for their efforts.
In 2014 Priestley students secured an overall A Level pass rate of at least 99% for the 10th year running. Nearly 250* were awarded and more than 500 Distinction* and Distinctions were achieved in BTEC and OCR Diplomas.
“It was another great year and we are very proud of the achievements of all our students,” said Matthew.



Luke Barnes  Sir Thomas Boteler CofE
Jessica Bate  Birchwood Community High
Christy Bellis  Ormiston Bollingbroke
Rose Bibby  Sir Thomas Boteler CofE
Christopher Billington  Penketh High
James Brown  Ormiston Chadwick Academy
Samuel Brown  Bridgewater County High
Alice Carnelia  St Gregory’s RC High
Sophie Carroll  Maghull High
Rebecca McDonald  St Gregory’s RC High
Liam Merrill  Bridgewater County High
Sechele Mtitimila  Culcheth High
Joshua Nunnerley  Birchwood Community High
Taylor Phythian  Cardinal Newman RC High
Lydia Prescott  Great Sankey County High
Eleanor Priestley  Birchwood County High
Beth Roberts  The Heath
David Robinson  Lysander High
Ryan Cunliffe  Hope Academy
Alice Drinkwater  Birchwood Community High
Amber Dumbill  Altrincham Grammar
Craig Fahey  Ormiston Chadwick Academy
George Fortune  Altrincham Grammar
Jordan France  The Heath
Emily Hindle  Woolston Community High
Jennifer Hodgson  Bridgewater County High
Jessica Houghton  Helsby High
Sean Robinson  The Heath
Michael Ross  Cardinal Newman RC High
Amber-Louise Sutch  Birchwood Community High
Evan Sutton  Golborne High
Elizabeth White  St Gregory’s RC High
Alice Williams  Lysander High
Ffion Williams  Bridgewater County High
Natasha Wright   Birchwood Community High
Christopher Howorth   Bridgewater County High
Jack Kirkham   The Heath
Rhianna Latimer   Beamont Collegiate Academy
Gabriella Leon   Cardinal Newman RC High
Kate Livesey   Cardinal Newman RC High
Chloe Loizou   Bridgewater County High
Matthew Lord   Bridgewater County High
Joseph Maddock   St Gregory’s RC High
Kirsty McCready  Birchwood Community High




Fine Art
Aimee Kinsey (Woolston High)
Textiles/ Fashion
Kate Stenson (Penketh High)
Jack Kirkham (The Heath)
Fine Art
Holly Grimes (St Gregory’s High)
Scott Carroll (Maghull High)
Beth Roberts (The Heath)
Art Foundation Diploma
Ryan Davies (Birchwood High)
Graphic Design
George Black (Great Sankey High)
Zia Martinez (Penketh High)
Imogen Baumber (Bridgewater High)
3D Design
Rebecca Gilbertson (Penketh High)
English Language
Alex Banner (The Heath)
English Literature
Elizabeth White (St Gregory’s High)
English Lit/Lang
Elysha McDonald (Penketh High)
Mark Talbot (Birchwood High)
Health and Social Care
Keely Taylor (Birchwood High)
Nicholas Parker (Lymm High)
John Dickinson (Cardinal Newman High)
Lydia Prescott (Great Sankey High)
Jonathan Perfect (Lysander High)
John Artro Morris (School)
Rose Bibby (Sir Thomas Boteler)
Religious Studies
Alexandra Preston (St Gregory’s High)
Liam Merrill (Bridgewater High)
Extended Project
Matthew Lord (Bridgewater High)
Mathematics GCSE
Jade Curran (Helsby High)
Anna Smith (St Gregory’s High)
Anne-Marie Leishmann (Bridgewater High)
Joel Whitaker (Sutton High Sports College)
Zach Walker (Birchwood High)
Ross Young (Lysander High)
Music Technology
Joe Firth (Helsby High)
Production Arts
Gemma Johnstone (Penketh High)
Jordan Simpson (Penketh High)
Jordan France (The Heath)
BTEC Business
Natalie Vance (Birchwood High)
Liam Merrill (Bridgewater High)
Lucy Aitchinson (Bridgewater High)
Public Services
Callum Brennan (St Gregory’s High)
Travel and Tourism
Paulina Cielasinka (Beamont Collegiate Academy)
Physical Education
Zara Hindmarsh (Great Sankey High)
Sport and Exercise Science
Chris Billington (Penketh High)
BTEC Sport
Ed Chamberlain (St Gregory’s High)



Alice Duffy
Matthew Davies
Jennifer Hodgson
Hamish Mackay
Amy Garcha
Emma Steele
Andrew Ball
Emily Tiernan
Chris Billington
Gemma Williams



The Professional Imagemaker Award for Art and Design Excellence Sechele Mtitimila

The Gwen Middlehurst Award for Modern Foreign Languages Francis Redmond

The Heart of Cheshire Education Consultants Award for Early Years Ailish Grady

The Mayor’s Award For Politics Craig Fahey

The Aurburn Rose Award for ICT Vocational Education Jennifer-Anne Hutchinson

The QA Apprenticeship Award for Computing Josh Barker

The QA Apprenticeship Award for ICT Jamie Gatley

The Liverpool Theatre School Award for Performing Arts Christy Bellis

The Sixpence Voice Studio Award for Music Liam Comer

The Baker Tilly Award for Accounts Kitty Meyer

The Margaret Kent Award for Biology Charlotte Plant

The Margaret Kent Award for Electronics Dan Tidswell

The Margaret Kent Award for Mathematics Julius Roberts

The Margaret Kent Award for Further Mathematics Jack Hamilton

The Margaret Kent Award for Physics Sam Brown

The Solvay Science Award for Applied Science Isobel Moorhouse

The Solvay Science Award for Chemistry Peter Gibson

The Warrington Sports Club Award for Sport, Performance and Excellence Rob Jones

The Warrington Wolves Award for Community Sports Development Tom Walsh

The Cheshire Netball Award for Sporting Achievement Jess Bate

The Nickel Promotions Award for Sporting Endeavour Jack Gleave

Secured By miniOrange